Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
Share |

"Children's Champion Award"


2015 Awardee:  Senator Al Franken (MN-D)

2013 Awardee:  Senator Patty Murray  (WA)

2011 Awardee:  Representative Gwen Moore   (WI-D)


"Randy A. Fisher Lifetime Career Achievement Award"

The Randy A. Fisher Lifetime Career Achievement Award was established by SSWAA in 2012 to honor a School Social Worker for outstanding lifetime contribution to the field of School Social Work and the School Social Work Association of America.    For more information regarding Randy Fisher and this award, click here.

NOMINATIONS OPEN: Deadline January 15, 2016

To nominate a colleague, please complete the Nomination Form and attach one letter of recommendation written by a state school social work organization, district administrator or a colleague and attach the nominee’s resume'.

(Click names to read more) 


2015 Co-Awardees:  Donna Secor Pennington & Beverly Van Dyke (MI) 

2014 Awardee:  Dr. Joseph Gianesin   (CT) 

2013 Awardee:  Marianne Pennekamp  (CA)

2012 Awardee:  Randy Fisher  (IL)

"School Social Worker of the Year"

In 2012, SSWAA developed the first national School Social Worker of the Year Award to honor one of our very best in the field of School Social Work.  

NOMINATIONS OPEN: Deadline January 15, 2016

Two ways to nominate someone for the award:

  • In states where a state school social work association exists, the state organization should forward a completed nomination form for Social Worker of the Year.  
  • In states where no state school social work organization exists, individuals may be nominated by a colleague or school administrator. 

To nominate a school social worker, please fill in the School Social Worker of the Year Application and attach two letters of recommendation, one written by a school administrator, the other by a colleague. Additionally, please include the nominee’s resume.

(Click names to read more)


2015 Awardee:  Stacy Colgan   (IL)  

2014 Awardee:  Susanne Schroeder  (MN) 

2013 Awardee:   Patricia "Pat" Childs  (MD)

2012 Awardee:  Heather Alden Pope   (MN)

"Gary Lee Shaffer Award for Academic Contributions to the Field of School Social Work"


Dr. Gary Lee Shaffer contributed years of service and scholarship to the field. SSWAA will again commemorate his contributions through an annual recognition of university faculty that has made significant contributions to the field.  For more information regarding Dr. Gary Shaffer and this award, click here 

NOMINATIONS OPEN: Deadline January 15, 2016

To nominate a faculty member for this award, please review the Nomination Criteria and Nomination Form   and attach one letter of recommendation written by a colleague, chair and/or dean as well as the  Nominee’s Curriculum Vitae 

(Click names to read more)


2015 Awardee:  Dr. Michael Kelly (IL)

2014 Awardee: Dr. Carol Massat   (IL)

2013 Awardee:  Dr. Michelle Alvarez  (MN)

2012 AwardeeDr. Natasha Bowen  (NC)

2011 Awardee:  Dr. Martell Teasley (FL)

2010 AwardeeDr. Andy Frey     (KY)

"SSWAA Book Award"

The SSWAA Book Award was established in 2012 to recognize published contribution to the field of School Social Work.   SSWAA would like to recognize exemplary print or electronic books in the field of school social work.

NOMINATIONS OPEN: Deadline January 15, 2016

Books must have a copyright year of 2015-2016.   Publishers interested in submitting nominations for electronic or print books should submit Nomination Form, required materials, and 5 copies of the nominated book and supporting materials such as journal/print reviews and reader reports.  (Review Nomination Form for Criteria and required materials.)

2015 Book Awardee:  Oxford University Press

The 2015 SSWAA Book Award was given to Laura Erickson-Schroth who wrote "Trans Bodies, Trans Selves: A Resource for the Transgender Community." Published by Oxford University Press, the book is a “must have” resource for questioning or transitioning teens, parents, teachers, social workers, and health care professionals.  Read more.

2012 Awardee:  Oxford University Press for the book "Response to Intervention:  A Guide for School Social Workers" authored by Dr. Michelle Alvarez and Jim Clark.   Read more.

Graduate Student Scholarship Winners

Each year SSWAA provides the Conference hosting state with Graduate Student Scholarships to attend the National Conference.  Jamie Redding from the Brown School of Social Work at Washington University was one of 5 MSW awardees presented a Graduate Student  Scholarship to assist in attending SSWAA's 17th National School Social Work Conferencesm in Chicago.  Awards were presented by Tom Tebbe, President of the Illinois Association of School Social Workers on behalf of SSWAA.   Congratulations also to Hanna Green (Loyola University), Sarah Kim (University of Illinois-Champaign-Urbana), Lucy Nelson (University of Illinois-Champaign-Urbana),  and Aisha Smart (Loyola University).  Read more.  Scholarship Funds are provided by the Randy Fisher Legacy Endowment Fund.     


Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Directory Search

Social Media
     How to Use Pinterest